top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDebbie Cowles

While we wait


In these days of pain, codeine, and chemo fog, I don’t have many words. But the darkness and fear lifted at night when I worshipped. I realised that, when I am fearing the future, I am ruining now. What a waste. I worshipped God because He is worthy. I worshipped because He is in control. I don’t have to figure it out. I don’t have to know the future or the outcome. I just have to trust Him.

In your days of uncertainty, pain, or waiting, will you worship also? If, like me, you don’t have many words, you can borrow these…

While I Wait

"...And even in the dark, when I'm undone I still believe it

I live by faith, and not by sight Sometimes miracles take time

While I wait, I will worship Lord, I'll worship Your name While I wait, I will trust You Lord, I'll trust You all the same

When I fall apart, You are my strength Help me not forget Seeing every scar, You make me whole You're my healer...

You're faithful every day...

Though I don't understand it I will worship with my pain You are God, You are worthy You are with me all the way

So while I wait, I will worship Lord, I'll worship Your name Though I don't have all the answers Still I trust You all the same"

by Lincoln Brewster (emphasis added)


And these…

Find You Here

"It's not the news that any of us hoped that we would hear, It's not the road we would have chosen, no. The only thing that we can see is darkness up ahead – But you're asking us to lay our worry down and sing a song instead.

And I didn't know I'd find you here, in the middle of my deepest fear, But you were drawing near, you were overwhelming me with peace. So I lift my voice and sing: "You're gonna carry us through everything!" You were drawing near, you're overwhelming all my fears with peace.

You say that I should come to you with everything I need. You're asking me to thank you even when the pain is deep. You promise that you'll come and meet us on the road ahead. And no matter what the fear says, you give me a reason to be glad....

Here in the middle of the lonely night, here in the middle of the losing fight, You're here in the middle of the deep regret, here when the healing hasn't happened yet. Here in the middle of the desert place, here in the middle when I cannot see your face, Here in the middle with your outstretched arms, you can see my pain and it breaks your heart....

You're gonna carry us through everything. Overwhelming peace."

by Ellie Holcombe (emphasis added)


Find beauty in the worship. Find peace in the storm.

Please feel free to get in touch. We would love to hear from you. We would love to pray for you. If you don’t have a relationship with Jesus, but would like to, or have questions about it, please feel free to ask. Thank you, dear friends.

Debbie

Please pray:

· For the oncologist to have wisdom regarding the number of chemo sessions. He said unless Covid-19 slows down, he will reduce my sessions from 6 to 4 for my protection. The next session is Thursday, 7 May here at home.

· And for wisdom for him as to the dosing of it. He may reduce the dose due to the foot pain and body aches I’ve experienced as some women are left with the foot pain or numbness for life. Please pray that the pain is only temporary!

· And, again, that whatever amount of chemo I have would kill every remaining cancer cell

· For God to be glorified in all Steve and I do and say in this whole process.

· For His will regarding my life

249 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page