top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDebbie Cowles

Good news 1 year and 1day after first surgery

Monday I had a wonderful FaceTime checkup with the oncologist. My cancer count couldn’t be better. No sign of any cancer at this time. And every single other blood level item is now in the normal range. Several were either a bit high or low in October due to chemo, but those have all corrected themselves now. Thanking and praising God and so thankful for your prayers.




Celebration time lockdown style: a local walk and prayer time 🙂. (The entire country is on a strict lockdown. Fines for disobeying are up to £10,000.) We are basically only going out for walks, but God is opening more doors for ministry remotely and also as we talk to people from our front door when they stop at our garden gate on their walks.


While the blood report is great news for now, we don’t know long-term. We have no idea if I was completely cured or if it’s simply in remission. It was a very aggressive cancer so the oncologist says my chances of it NOT coming back in 10 years is 60 to 70%. Even though it was caught super early, no symptoms, prophylactic operation to prevent it, and it was microscopic, it still could come back even after all that chemo. As my mother-in-law used to say “for this we have Jesus”. One day at a time, sweet Jesus. Learning to live with the uncertainty I wanted to avoid when I opted for the first prophylactic surgery a year ago...


One more prayer request: my sleep has been terrible lately. Worse than usual. It seems that my body is completely and utterly exhausted from the stresses of the past year. We are striving to live in a healthy way in this stringent lockdown. We are taking walks, trying new recipes, and I am exploring different avenues for help regarding my insomnia. Thank you for your prayers. We cannot express how deeply we appreciate them.





208 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"Aarons" and "Hurs" in abundance...

Day 100!! [October 25] #OHDOT (one hundred days of thankful): I am so full of gratitude to God for how He has answered prayer. When I was diagnosed in January, I prayed for God to send “Aarons” and “

bottom of page