top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDebbie Cowles

Safe. Even with cancer.

Updated: Mar 3, 2020

And here’s the story of how God used a precious friend, an Indian believer who was introduced to Jesus by our daughter, Kristy, to confirm an important word to me...


Steve held me mid-January and said I was “safe and secure”. That phrase really stood out to me. Then, just before they put me to sleep for the first operation on 17 January, the attendant at my side said I was safe. Again, it felt like it was very significant. I told Steve about it afterwards and he said “I think ‘safe’ is your word for the year”. I agreed, though I seldom have a word for the year. But I do this year and it is “safe”.


On the 19th of January, I wrote in my journal:

“Safe

  • In Your care

  • In Your arms

  • In Your classroom

  • Under Your instruction

  • With my husband

  • In our home”

And at no point in all the events which have followed, including a cancer diagnosis five days later, have I doubted that. The presence and help and comfort of Jesus is very real. I am safe with Him. Nothing can separate me from Him.**


One of the things I have asked Jesus is for confirmation of everything three ways. I struggle with second-guessing decisions, and I was committed to obeying Him but needed to know clearly from Him the way forward. When I prayed that, I meant things like the order of chemotherapy vs operations etc. Big things.


Kristy came after my second operation, and gave me a little gift each day. A card, a book, or something someone gave her for me... On her first full day with us, she gave me a beautiful handmade card and on the front was… “You are safe”. And inside? “Lord Jesus is watching over you… you will be safe and secured....” This brought together both of the above instances, and was a third confirmation. It took my breath away. It was from our sweet Indian friend in Virginia, mailed to Kristy in Kansas, hand-carried to England, and given to me at just the right time.


When I told our friend about it and thanked her, she wrote: “I don’t have any words to explain how amazing it made me feel the moment I heard your story. It will stay forever in my mind.” So God used it to encourage her as well!


If you have ever doubted the reality of God, ever questioned His existence, please know that He is real, and He wants a relationship with you, too. I just hope that something of my journey will encourage you. To God be all the glory.


**”And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, [neither cancer nor chemo], neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Romans 8: 38-39



87 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page