top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDebbie Cowles

"Aarons" and "Hurs" in abundance...

Updated: Dec 2, 2020

Day 100!! [October 25] #OHDOT (one hundred days of thankful): I am so full of gratitude to God for how He has answered prayer.


When I was diagnosed in January, I prayed for God to send “Aarons” and “Hurs” to “hold up our hands” (support us in this difficult season; Exodus 17–see below). God sent so many and they have been so creative in their help, especially considering it’s coincided with a pandemic! Some are people we didn’t even know before!  We are just amazed at the outpouring of love and consideration that has been shown to us.


The cover of this notebook shows a few of the many ways that we have been so well supported.  The lady in the middle is to represent me. Just minutes before the surgeon called with the diagnosis, I felt God impress upon me that He was placing me on the Rock, which was Himself (Psalm 40: 1-3), and that has not changed.


Jesus showed me that all of this, including cancer and chemotherapy, was a gift that I was to give to Him. I was never invited to open the gift, which was beautifully wrapped; only to give it to Him. And, surprisingly, in the picture in my mind, it is always light when I give it to Him. Sometimes it’s excruciatingly hard to keep this perspective and I fall into self-pity. But God is so gracious and I want to give Him all the honour and glory.


In the notebook is page after page of notes and emails and cards and items that people sent. And of course there are many additional ways of support that cannot be pictured.

To God be the glory!


Exodus 17: 8-16 The Amalekites came and attacked the Israelites at Rephidim. Moses said to Joshua, “Pick out some men to go and fight the Amalekites tomorrow. I will stand on top of the hill holding the stick that God told me to carry.” Joshua did as Moses commanded him and went out to fight the Amalekites, while Moses, Aaron, and Hur went up to the top of the hill. As long as Moses held up his arms, the Israelites won, but when he put his arms down, the Amalekites started winning. When Moses' arms grew tired, Aaron and Hur brought a stone for him to sit on, while they stood beside him and held up his arms, holding them steady until the sun went down. In this way Joshua totally defeated the Amalekites.


Then the Lord said to Moses, “Write an account of this victory, so that it will be remembered...” Moses built an altar and named it “The Lord is my Banner.” He said, “Hold high the banner of the Lord!”

73 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page